Here we go…

I can’t remember being this excited about the first day of class since I started college over a decade ago. My teammates and I begin Steve Blank’s Lean Launch Pad class at Haas tomorrow evening. It promises to be a grueling and rewarding process for everyone in the class.

Personally, I’m looking at this as the capstone project for my MBA experience. I came to Haas two and a half years ago after almost a decade as a producer of various media: primarily TV commercials and websites, but with radio, print, cable specials, and some short film thrown in. I had produced just about everything that a person could produce short of a feature film, and that didn’t seem like a challenge I wanted to try. Instead, I wanted to see if I could produce a business. Broadly, entrepreneurship and production are same thing; you bring substance to an idea and create something new.

For all the previous creative endeavors that I had undertaken I learned that there is a fairly standard process for each type of media. Once you knew how to do it, you could do it again and again with little variations thrown in for flare. Kind of like cooking, you start with a recipe (the creative concept) and then improvise to get the best results based on what turns up along the way.

I can already tell that staring a business is infinitely more complex and that the process is far less regimented than advertising production. But the Lean Launchpad provides the framework from which to work. I suspect that the next 10 weeks are going to be as challenging, joyful, depressing, exhilarating, and exhausting as anything I’ve ever done, but this is why I came to Haas.

I’m looking forward to the process, and I’m thrilled to be starting the journey with my teammates, classmates, and the teaching staff.

Let’s get to work.

– Rick

About legacynetwork

LeanLaunchpad
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

